Okay, so this is not the World Cup, but, it is the highest award given to individuals and cities who have given their best in preserving the environment in Indonesia.

Adipura, awarded to green cities, is one of the most prestige award for cities/districts in the country. It’s sorta life and death matters for its residents because it serves as proof that they are keeping their cities clean.

Kalptaru, awarded to individuals or groups, who has been dedicating her/his life to preserve the environment, might it be forestry or waste management. Receiving the award also means that it would give a proportional spotlight for these green heroes and support their efforts.

Adiwiyata, awarded to schools, aim to introduce green living in early stages of education, starting from elementary, junior high and senior high schools. It’s less media attention but it does provide extra confident for school students that they’re going to change the world/ (And, YES I DO ABSOLUTELY BELIEVE THAT THEY CAN AND WILL CHANGE THE WORLD FOR THE BETTER, BETTER THAN OLD ONES!).

Adipura trophies

The Awards were presented by Vice President Jusuf Kalla at the peak of World Environment Day 2016 held in Siak district of Riau, accompanied by Minister of Environment and Forestry Siti Nurbaya.

Without further ado, here are the winners :


No District/City Trophy
1 Surabaya city Adipura Paripurna*
2 Balikpapan city Adipura Paripurna
3 Tulungagung district Adipura Paripurna

* Adipura Paripurna is the highest award given to cities and districts.

No District/City  Trophy
1 Tangerang city Adipura Kirana
2 Semarang city Adipura Kirana
3 Palembang city Adipura Kirana
4 Bandung city Adipura Kirana
5 Makassar city Adipura Kirana
6 Central Jakarta city Adipura Kirana
7 Malang city Adipura Kirana
8 Cimahi city Adipura Kirana
9 Banjarmasin city Adipura Kirana
10 Denpasar city Adipura Kirana
11 Jambi city Adipura Kirana
12 Surakarta city Adipura Kirana
13 Madiun city Adipura Kirana
14 Jombang district Adipura Kirana
15 Pasuruan city Adipura Buana
16 Bukittinggi city Adipura Kirana
17 Banyumas district Adipura Kirana
18 Sidoarjo district Adipura Kirana
19 Sukabumi city Adipura Buana
20 Magelang city Adipura Kirana
21 Payakumbuh city Adipura Buana
22 Probolinggo city Adipura Kirana
23 Ambon city Adipura Buana
24 Kendari city Adipura Buana
25 Banyuwangi district Adipura Buana
26 Lahat district Adipura Buana
27 Bau-Bau city Adipura Buana
28 Jayapura city Adipura Kirana
29 Blitar city Adipura Buana
30 Mojokerto city Adipura Kirana
31 Karimun ditsrict Adipura Kirana
32 Kudus district Adipura Kirana
33 Tebing Tinggi city Adipura Buana
34 Banda Aceh city Adipura Kirana
35 Tanjung Pinang city Adipura Buana
36 Banjarbaru city Adipura Kirana
37 Salatiga city Adipura Kirana
38 Jepara district Adipura Kirana
39 Bontang city Adipura Kirana
40 Pematang Siantar city Adipura Buana
41 Gorontalo city Adipura Kirana
42 Pare-Pare city Adipura Kirana
43 Bitung city Adipura Buana
44 Pati district Adipura Buana
45 Lamongan district Adipura Kirana
46 Banjar district Adipura Kirana
47 Nganjuk district Adipura Buana
48 Prabumulih city Adipura Kirana
49 Waringin Barat city district Adipura Buana
50 Bintan district Adipura Buana
51 Kotamobagu city Adipura Buana
52 Deli Serdang district Adipura Buana
53 Bojonegoro district Adipura Kirana
54 Hulu Sungai Tengah district Adipura Buana
55 Biak Numfor district Adipura Buana
56 Mojokerto district Adipura Buana
57 Pagar Alam city Adipura Buana
58 Musi Banyu Asin district Adipura Buana
59 Padang Panjang city Adipura Buana
60 Tabanan district Adipura Buana
61 Pacitan district Adipura Buana
62 Indramayu district Adipura Buana
63 Maros district Adipura Buana
64 Langkat district Adipura Buana
65 Ciamis district Adipura Kirana
66 Tanjung Balai city Adipura Buana
67 Muara Enim district Adipura Buana
68 Bulukumba district Adipura Buana
69 Sragen district Adipura Buana
70 Tabalong district Adipura Buana
71 Madiun district Adipura Buana
72 Tapin district Adipura Buana
73 Hulu Sungai Selatan district Adipura Buana
74 Bangli district Adipura Buana
75 Malang district Adipura Kirana
76 Tuban district Adipura Kirana
77 Merangin district Adipura Buana
78 Siak district Adipura Buana
79 Sukoharjo district Adipura Kirana
80 Kepulauan Sangihe district Adipura Buana
81 Tidore Kepulauan district Adipura Buana
82 Banjar city Adipura Kirana
83 Pinrang district Adipura Buana
84 Sumenep district Adipura Buana
85 Karangasem district Adipura Buana
86 Wonogiri district Adipura Buana
87 Panajam Paser Utara district Adipura Buana
88 Konawe district Adipura Buana
89 Temanggung district Adipura Buana
90 Kolaka Utara district Adipura Buana
91 Pasuruan district Adipura Buana
92 Boyolali district Adipura Buana
93 Bantaeng district Adipura Buana
94 Buleleng district Adipura Buana
95 Blora district Adipura Buana
96 Langsa city Adipura Buana


Environmental Pioneers :

1. Mbah Sadiman of Dali hamlet, Wonogir district, Central Java province.
2. dr. Gamal Albinsaid of Malang city, East Java province.

Environmental Stewards :

1. Yohanes Wambrauw of Biak Numfor district, Papua province.
2. Jasman, S.Ag of Solok district, North Sumatra province.
3. Neneng Anengsih of Buleleng district, Bali province.

Environmental Saviors :

1. Wonga Mengi Farmers of Ende district, East Nusa Tenggara province.

2. Yohasap Paririe of Yapen Island district of Papua province.

3. Alam Sehat Lestari Foundation of North Kayong district, West Kalimantan province.

Environmental Coaches : :

1. Moh. Shokib Garno Sunarno of Kudus district, Central Java province.
2. TGH. Hasanain Juaini LC, MH of West Lombok district, West Nusa Tenggara province.


  1. State Primary School17 Pemecutan, Bali
  2. State Junior High School 2 Bandung, West Java
  3. State Primary School Tanah Tinggi 1,Banten
  4. State High School 1 Demak, Central Java
  5. State Junior High School 1 Pandak,D.I Yogyakarta
  6. State Junior High School 7,East Java
  7. Primary School Tarakanita 3,DKI. Jakarta
  8. State Primary School Jawa 2 Martapura,South Kalimantan
  9. State Primary School 013 Balikpapan Selatan,East Kalimantan
  10. State High School 1 Sampit,Central Kalimantan
  11. State Junior High School 1 Nunukan,North Kalimantan
  12. State Junior High School 1 Jayapura,Papua
  13. MTsN Ma’rang,South Sulawesi
  14. State Junior High School 1 Marisa,Gorontalo
  15. State Junior High School 1 Kendari,Southeast Sulawesi
  16. State High School 3 Palu,Central Sulawesi
  17. State High School 1 Matauli Pandan,North Sumatera
  18. State High School 1 Lubuklinggau,South Sumatera
  19. Primary Schools Semen Padang 1 and 2,West Sumatera
  20. State High School 4,Bengkulu
  21. State Junior High School 6 Kandis,Riau
  22. State Junior High School 4,Jambi
  23. State Junior High School 2,Bangka Belitung Island